ANIO Awards 2018, call for Nominations

We are nearing the time of the annual dinner and award ceremony for the American Nephrologists of Indian Origin (ANIO) during ASN.

Nominations are currently being accepted for the ANIO Awards for Academic Excellence and Outstanding Service.

The Academic Excellence award recognizes individuals of Indian origin who have made substantial and significant contributions to the science of nephrology in basic or clinical science supported by published work  in scientific journals. The recipient preferably should be of Indian ancestry and can be based in North America or elsewhere. The selection committee rarely may decide to give the award to someone not of Indian ancestry, whose contribution  may be of special significance to the Indian diaspora with regard to disease manifestations, mechanisms or treatment.

The Outstanding Service award recognizes individuals who have made substantial and significant contributions to nephrology in the context of public service, propagation of knowledge/teaching and training or awareness of kidney diseases or significant donation which resulted in an advancement of research or education and well being of the specialty and the people it serves. This award is also available to colleagues in India who have made significant contributions to the mission of ANIO.

 If you have anyone in mind for these awards, please send a letter of nomination including a short biodata, CV and approval of the nominee to Dr. Vinod Bansal at

The deadline for nominations to be received is September 20th, 2018 at 12 midnight EDT.

Previous awardees include:

Brian Pereira,
Vikas Sukhatme
Mannikam Suthintharan
Kirpal Chugh
Sudhir Shah
Ravi Mehta
Ajay Singh
Balakuntlam Kasinath,
Manjari Venkatachalam
Karl A Nath
Ravi Thadhani
Anupam Agarwal
Vinod Bansal
John Feehally
Pravin Singhal (Academic Excellence)
Rajiv Agarwal (Clinical Excellence)
Sanjay Nigam (Academic Excellence)
Ramesh Khanna (Clinical Excellence)
Prasad Devarajan (Academic Excellence)
Sundaram Hariharan (Clinical Excellence)
Prabir Roy-Chaudhury (Academic Excellence)
Rulan Parekh (Clinical Excellence)
Hamid Rabb (Academic Excellence)
Mohan Rajapurkar (Outstanding Service)


Categories: Annoucements, ASN event


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: