ANIO Award for Clinical Excellence 2015

28 10 2015

HARIHARAN_SUNDARAM_MD_TTS_20120315_Sundaram Hariharan is a Professor of Medicine and Surgery at the Thomas E. Starzl Transplantation Institute, University of Pittsburgh and Medical Director of Kidney and Pancreas Transplantation at the University of Pittsburgh Medical Center. He is the  medical director of the kidney and pancreas transplant program at the  University of Pittsburgh. His research interest is in the fields of kidney and pancreas transplantation. He has published over 140 peer-reviewed articles in these areas and has participated in 30 different clinical trials and in 15 as PI. His scientific contributions cover variety of important renal transplant topics. They are: Recurrent and De novo Diseases after renal transplantation, Long-term Kidney Transplant Survival, Surrogate Markers for Renal Transplant Outcome and BKV infection after Renal Transplantation. Recently he has been focusing on identification, pathogenesis and treatment of sub-clinical acute rejection in renal transplant recipients with a goal of treating sub-clinical rejection and improving long-term allograft survival.

Lets congratulate Dr Hariharan on this amazing achievement and ANIO’s prestigious award for clinical excellence.


ANIO Award for Academic Excellence 2015

26 10 2015

Devarajan 2013Prasad Devarajan, MD is the Williams Endowed Chair, Professor of Pediatrics and Developmental Biology, Director of Nephrology and Hypertension, Director of Clinical Laboratories, Director of the Nephrology Fellowship Training Program, Director of the Office of Pediatric Clinical Fellowships, Medical Director of the Kidney Stone Center, and CEO of the Dialysis Unit at Cincinnati Children’s Hospital Medical Center and University of Cincinnati. He has authored over 230 peer-reviewed publications and 35 chapters. His research has been continuously funded by the National Institutes of Health for more than 26 years. He has established an NIH-funded Center of Excellence in Nephrology, as well as an NIH-funded Fellowship Training Program in Nephrology. His major research interests lie in using proteomic and functional genomic approaches for the discovery of pathogenetic pathways, diagnostic biomarkers, and novel therapies of acute kidney injury. He holds more than 120 US and international patent applications. He has been named twice by Thomson-Reuters as one of the “World’s Most Influential Scientific Minds”. His laboratory has pioneered the discovery, translation, and validation of NGAL as a biomarker of kidney injury. He has mentored over 30 trainees in basic, translational and clinical nephrology. His leadership in clinical and research excellence has garnered his division the #2 rating in Pediatric Nephrology by US News for the third consecutive year.

Let’s congratulate him on this years ANIO award for academic excellence!

ANIO Dinner at ASN 2015

26 10 2015

VENUE : Marriott Marquis, San Diego. Ballroom A/B

DATE: Thursday, Nov 5th, 2015, San Diego


7:00 pm – 8:00 pm         Social Hour-drinks and appetizers

8:00 pm – 8:20 pm         Welcome and Update on ANIO activities

8:20 pm – 8:40 pm         Presentation of ANIO Academic Excellence Award
8:40 pm – 9:00 pm         Presentation of ANIO Clinical Excellence Award

9:00  pm onwards          Dinner and Networking

ANIO Awards 2015 Nominations

23 09 2015
We are nearing the time of the annual dinner and award ceremony for the American Nephrologists of Indian Origin (ANIO) during ASN. A final date and venue will soon be sent out.
Nominations are currently being accepted for the ANIO Awards for Academic Excellence and Clinical Excellence.
The Academic Excellence award recognizes individuals of Indian origin who have made substantial academic contributions to nephrology and have sustained achievements in the areas of research and education.
The Clinical Excellence award recognizes individuals of Indian origin who have made substantial clinical contributions to nephrology and have sustained achievements in the areas of clinical care and organizational leadership.
If you have anyone in mind for these awards, please send a short paragraph (75-100 words) on this individual together with his or her CV to the following:
For the Academic Award: Dr. Sudhir Shah at
For the Clinical Award: Dr. Vinod Bansal at
The deadline for nominations to be received is October 5th, 2015.

ANIO Update 2015

8 09 2015
  • We will be having an Annual Awards Dinner at ASN (Date and Venue to be confirmed)
  • Join us to recognize two outstanding colleagues and meet other friends and colleagues
  • Hear about educational activities that ANIO is involved in
  • Watch the web site for further notifications

ANIO Awards for 2014

6 11 2014



Loews Philadelphia Hotel 1200 Market St., Philadelphia, PA 19107



7:00 pm – 7:45 pm         Social Hour (drinks and appetizers)

7:45 pm – 8:00 pm         Update on ANIO activities

8:00 pm – 8:30 pm         Presentation of ANIO Academic Excellence Award to Sanjay Nigam, Professor of Pediatrics, Medicine and Cellular & Molecular Medicine, University of California at San Diego

8:30 pm – 9:00 pm         Presentation of ANIO Clinical Excellence Award to Ramesh Khanna, Professor of Medicine and Division Director, Nephrology, University of Missouri, Columbia, MO

9:00 pm onwards          Dinner and Networking

ANIO ASN Dinner event 2014

4 11 2014

Dinner reception during the ASN week to honor our outstanding colleagues.
Program Details

7:00 pm – 7:45pm Social Hour
drinks and appetizers

7:45-8:00 update on ANIO activities

8:00 pm – 8:30 pm presentation of awards  to first recepient

8:30pm -9:00 pm – presentation of awards to second recepient

9:00 pm onwards Dinner and networking